Shane Van Boening Defends Title at 22nd SBX! By Ricky Bryant

All Photo’s By Ricky Bryant

Shane Van Boening Defends Title at 22nd SBX!

The event returned for the second year to the New Jersey Convention Center in Edison, New Jersey.  Predator was the new sponsor of the event the “2014 Predator Open 10-Ball Pro Players Championship“.  The play was on 9 foot Diamond tables and the rules for 2014 were:

  • 10-Ball, races to 10
  • Finals will be one race to 13
  • Double Elimination
  • Open to all players, men and women
  • Lag for the Break with Alternating Break
  • Rack your own and 10-ball does not count on the break
  • 3 fouls in a row results in loss of game. Players must notify their opponent when they are on 2 fouls.
  • No call shots
  • Jump Cues Allowed
  • Cue ball fouls only – foul results in ball-in-hand
  • Push after the break only
  • If a player accidentally touches a ball, their opponent will have the option to leave ball as-is or put back where he/she thinks it was.

The event started on Thursday the opening day of SBX with a field of 57 players. It was an all-male field with the women only playing in their 9-ball event. The Pro Arena had some nice improvements with the addition of curtain that divided the arena from the Expo.  The free bleacher seats were also improved and enlarged and there was a Paid VIP seating area available. This was also the second year for Pro Tournament Director Doug Ennis who was also task with managing three pro events for 2014.  And as in 2013 he was up for the task with his assistant, Andrew Coley, they produced a GREAT Event.


Shane Van Boening was the returning Champion from 2012 and 2013.  Shane has won the SBX Pro event four times, once in 9-ball and three times in 10-Ball.  This was again another great field.  Sunday the final day, after three days of play, there were four remaining players.  On the one loss side was Earl Strickland and Oscar Dominguez.  On the no loss side playing for the hot seat was Shane Van Boening and Tommy Kennedy.  To get to the final day Shane had defeated, Robert Lewis, Alan Duty, Shaun Wilkie, Dennis Hatch and Warren Kiamco.  Shaun Wilkie gave him his closest race winning 6 games.  Tommy Kennedy had defeated Michael DeLawder, Ruben Bautista, Johnny Archer, Mika Immonen and Ralf Souquet.  Mika was his toughest match going hill-hill.  Earl had won his first two matches before losing to Mika. Then from the one loss side he knocked out, Kevin Clark, Thorsten Hohmann, Rodney Morris, Darren Appleton and Warren Kiamco.  Oscar Dominguez also won his first two matches before losing to Warren Kiamco. On the one loss side he eliminated John Ulrich, Mike Dechaine, Mika Immonen, Jason Shaw and Ralf Souquet.  Oscar put up a great battle but could only get 6 games to Earls 10.  Shane`s cruise through the field ended with a 8 to 10 loss to Tommy Kennedy.  Earl was overheard telling Shane “I took care of business for us to meet in the final but you didn`t“.  Well Shane got back to business defeating Earl 10 to 5.  Tommy in the hot seat would have to face Shane in an extended race to 13.  Shane was on a mission and took the final 13 to 8.  This gave Shane the Three-peat and his fifth SBX title.  Congratulations to all the players and especially five Time Champion Shane Van Boening.

PRIZE FUND with Entry Fee $500:

1st: $10,000 Guaranteed & Trophy –            Shane Van Boening

2nd: $5000                                                Tommy Kennedy

3rd: $2500                                                Earl Strickland

4th: $2000                                                Oscar Dominguez

5-6th: $1750 each

7-8th: $1500 each

9-12th: $1250 each

13-16th: $1000 each

17-24th: $750 each

(Based on field of 64 players)



You may also like...