The American CueMakers Association (ACA)

The American CueMakers Association (ACA) is proud to introduce the 2009 recipients of it’s “Hall of Fame Award” and it’s “Cuemaker of the Year Award.” The ACA was formed in 1992 to promote the American made cue as an unique collectible art form. Today, ACA membership includes over 40 of America’s finest cuemakers.

The “Hall of Fame Award” is presented to those cuemakers who have distinguished themselves by advancing the art of cuemaking either by innovations in the cuemaking process or by producing an outstanding quality cue over the years. Previous inductees into the ACA Hall of Fame include George Balabushka, Herman Rambow, Burton Spain, Ernie Gutierrez, Harvey Martin, Gus Szamboti, Frank Paradise, Eugene and Ilona Balmer, Dan Janes, Jerry Franklin, and Bill Schick. The 2009 recipient of this prestigious award is Richard Black of Humble, Texas. Richard began making cues in 1974 and continues to the present day. He is recognized in the industry for the complexity of his designs and his years of experience in producing beautiful, high quality cues.

The 2009 “Cuemaker of the Year Award” recipient is Tim Scruggs of Baltimore, Maryland. Tim began making cues with Joss in 1972, and formed his own company in 1978. He has been recognized as one of America’s premier cuemakers ever since. Additionally, Tim is one of the charter members of the American CueMakers Association.

These awards will be presented on Saturday, March 21, at the annual ACA Awards Banquet at this year’s Allen Hopkin’s Super Billiards Expo at the Valley Forge Convention Center in Valley Forge, Pennsylvania. Also presented at this ceremony will be the annual “Cue of the Year Award” which will be voted upon by this year’s attendees at the Expo.

You may also like...